THE FARM AND THE OAK OF CAN REVELLA
You are now in front of the Can Revella oak tree and next to the eponymous farmhouse. The City Council intervened during the construction of the Can Mates Park to protect this oak tree as well as others on Can Mates road and the Xaragall oaks.
The Can Revella oak tree is genetically unique. It differs from the oak trees of Xaragall that were exploited in small forest regimes, with the plantation of suckers from a mother plant. The goal was to produce as much firewood, stakes and sticks as possible.
The first documented mention of this farmhouse goes back to 1392. Back then, it was known as Mas Turmo and later as Mas Rubió.
In the municipal archives of 1553, the name of the Revell family already appears, possibly related to this farmhouse.
In the 19th century, the family properties were parceled out and sold to farmers in Sant Cugat.
Today, the farm is owned by the municipality, which plans to restore the building to give it a social purpose.